Meditation on John 10:11-16 Eve of Holy Cross Day

IMG_0474
The Good Shepherd, Paper Cutout, Phillip Schwartz

 

I am the good shepherd. I know my own and my own know me, just as the Father knows me and I know the Father. And I lay down my life for the sheep. I have other sheep that do not belong to this fold. I must bring them also, and they will listen to my voice. So there will be one flock, one shepherd.”

 

There are people of every religion who seem to think that they own of God. If we’re not careful we can fall into arrogantly assuming that our path is the only path. As part of our Baptismal Covenant, we vow to strive for justice and peace among all people, and respect the dignity of every human being. We are bound by that vow to respect the faith traditions of all of God’s numerous and varied flocks.

Phillip Schwartz

Leave a Reply

