Meditation on Isaiah 50:1-11

img_0829
Let Us Stand Up Together, Paper Cutout, Phillip Schwartz 

 


The Lord God has opened my ear, and I was not rebellious, I did not turn backward. I gave my back to those who struck me, and my cheeks to those who pulled out the beard; I did not hide my face from insult and spitting. The Lord God helps me; therefore I have not been disgraced; therefore I have set my face like flint, and I know that I shall not be put to shame; he who vindicates me is near. Who will contend with me? Let us stand up together.

 

“Let us stand up together.” That sentence is powerful, it speaks to our need for solidarity, not just with God, but also with our fellow man. We need each other. We support and are supported by one another when we stand together. As the chant of many protest movements goes, “The people united will never be defeated.” It is when we are sorted into groups and pitted against one another that we fall. So, ”Let us stand up together.”

Phillip Schwartz

One thought on “Meditation on Isaiah 50:1-11

  1. So very apropos for our current situation and for what is going on tomorrow with you. I love the song, “United we stand divided we fall, and if our backs should ever be against the wall we’ll be together, you and I” Blessings for all you are and for all you are doing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

